With todays update we added a feature to notifiy you if a stopwatch is running for longer than 9 hours and a notification feature which sends you an email if you did not enter any work times for “today” (you will get this notification each day at 5 p.m. – except on the weekend)
You can find this new setting at your user settings under the notifications tab.
From now on it’s possible (for administrators) to customize the account even more.
On the settings page the main colors of the application can be changed (e.g. to use your companies colors) and your custom logo can be uploaded.
The logo will be displayed on the left side of the header.
Todays Update brings even more colors to SpikeTime. Each Tag can now be marked with a different color.
Tags are displayed on the “Times” and “Timesheet” page.
To make the time tracking even more straightforward, now there is an option “no side menu”. It removes the side menu and all functions are shown in full width.
All functions are accessible through the navigation bar.
Today we implemented another new feature in SpikeTime. Now its possible to enter the duration of breaks in a time entry.
If times are entered as from – to, its possible to save the duration of breaks in hours.
The function is activated, by clicking on the coffe mug icon in the upper right corner.
Entering break times is similar to entering durations: so 0,75 means 0:45 h.
The visibility of the input field for break times will be saved for the user.
Todays update brings two small improvements.
1. The excel export now contains the information if an entry is locked.
2. Alle generierten Diagramme können nun auch als PDF, PNG oder JPG gespeichert werden. Dazu gibt es rechts unter jedem Diagramm ein kleines Menü
2. All reports can now be exported as PDF, PNG or JPG. Therefor you can find a little menu in the lower right corner of each diagram.
Additionally some small bugs were fixed.
The sections “Reports” and “Timesheet” allow you to analyse tracked times. The section “Reports” contains multiple predefined graphs and reports. The section “Timesheet” allows to filter and post-edit time entries of you and your team.
Both sections contain an extensive filter, to limit the selection of time entries.
The following attributes can be filtered:
- Hourly Rate
- Is billable or not
The result only shows data which matches all criteria.
Filters can be saved via the button ‘Save Filter’.
Use saved filter
All saved filters are displayed in a select box in the upper right corner. By clicking on an item, the filter is applied. The little ‘X’ near the saved filter will delete it.
Right now the filters are grouped in four sections – Overview, projects, users and Tags.
The timesheet shows all entries which match the filter criteria, additionally the timesheet can be grouped to give you a better overview.
Time entries can be ‘locked’ via the lock icon on the left. If an entry is locked, it can’t be edited, by team members with the employee role, anymore.
It is also possible to edit and delete time entries in this section by clicking on the icons on the right side of the list.
For further information on how to use SpikeTime, use the blog category ‘Features’ in the side menu.
Administrators and managers are able to add, archive and edit clients.
To add a new client, click the button ‘Add client’. Add a unique name for the client. Optionally you can enter an address and a comment.
If a client is archived, all its projects will be archived too.
On the ‘projects’ site, administrators and managers can add, edit, archive and delete projects.
To create a new project use the button ‘Add project’.
Select a unique name and a client. (New clients can be added on the ‘clients’ page). All other information is optional. If a project is billable or not, will be used as preset for all time entries for this project.
Defining budgets offers a convenient possibility to keep track of the expenses. The budget can be set as a value in the set currency or as duration in hours.
Rates can be set globally on the ‘Rates’ page. Additionally rates can be set on project level, these rates will be displayed when editing a time entry.
Administrators can add, archive or delete team member and modify theirs roles and rights.
The section ‘team’ shows all members of the team.
The user list is, like every other master data site, divided into active and archived users. Archived users can’t log into SpikeTime but their data is kept on the server for further analysis. If neccessary archived users can be reactivated without creating a new user.
When adding a new team member he gets an emails with an activation link. When logging in for the first time, he must enter a password – so no passwords have to be sent via email.
A new user can be added via the button ‘New User’. Name, email and role must be entered. Additionally, the administrator can decide, if the user is allowed to see revenue in reports and what projects he is allowed to see.
||Only own entries
|Edit master data (Project/Rate/Client)
|Edit the team
|Access to …